- The Short Answer: No Published Pass Rate Exists
- Why AHA Does Not Publish One
- What "Passing" Actually Means for This Card
- The Optional Written Exam: 84% and Open Resources
- Decoding Pass Rates and Guarantees From Training Sites
- Where Learners Realistically Struggle, Domain by Domain
- Format Checklist Before You Book
- A Heartsaver-Specific Prep Sequence
- How to Evaluate Any Pass-Rate Claim You See
- Frequently Asked Questions
- AHA does not publicly disclose a pass rate for Heartsaver CPR AED, so any specific national percentage is unverified.
- The core requirement is a satisfactory Adult CPR and AED Skills Test; a written exam is optional and employer-driven.
- If a written exam is given, current policy requires at least 84%, permits reference materials, and sets no AHA-mandated timer.
- Training-center claims like "99% pass rate" or "100% guarantee" describe local policies, not an issuer-wide statistic.
The Short Answer: No Published Pass Rate Exists
If you searched for the Heartsaver CPR AED pass rate hoping to find a clean percentage, here is the honest finding: the American Heart Association has not publicly disclosed an aggregate pass rate for this course. No national figure, no annual report, no breakdown by Training Center. Any article quoting a precise statistic as though it came from AHA is either guessing or repackaging a marketing claim.
That may sound like a dead end, but the absence of a number is itself informative. It tells you something about how this credential works, and understanding that mechanism will help you prepare far better than chasing a statistic. This article walks through what the available evidence actually supports, what it does not, and how to interpret the pass-rate claims you will inevitably encounter while shopping for a class.
Why AHA Does Not Publish One
Heartsaver CPR AED is administered through AHA Training Centers and Instructors, along with approved hands-on training pathways. There is no independent examination vendor collecting results into a central scoreboard. Each Training Center runs classes, evaluates skills, and issues cards through its own processes. Without a centralized testing body reporting outcomes, there is nothing equivalent to the pass-rate tables you might see for a proctored licensing exam.
Three structural reasons explain the missing statistic:
- Decentralized delivery. Classroom, blended, self-guided, and virtual routes all exist, and instructors assess learners locally.
- Skills-based evaluation. The primary gate is a performance demonstration on a manikin, which is coached and retried in a class setting rather than scored as a one-shot exam.
- Course-completion framing. AHA issues a card documenting satisfactory performance at completion and explicitly distinguishes this from certifying people in CPR.
That last point matters for how you think about "passing." The card documents that you completed the curriculum and performed the required skills satisfactorily. It is not a competitive rank earned against a cut score on a standardized instrument.
What "Passing" Actually Means for This Card
To receive the Heartsaver CPR AED card, a learner completes the applicable course curriculum and satisfactorily performs the Adult CPR and AED Skills Test. When child and infant components are taught, the corresponding Child CPR and Infant CPR Skills Tests apply as well. That is the substance of the assessment pathway.
Notice what is not on that list: a mandatory written exam. AHA treats the written exam as optional, relevant when an employer or regulator asks for it. This is the single most misunderstood point in pass-rate conversations. Many prep sites describe a universal timed written test that every candidate must sit, and they build pass-rate narratives around it. For this course, that framing does not match the issuer's policy.
| Assessment Element | Status for Heartsaver CPR AED |
|---|---|
| Adult CPR and AED Skills Test | Required |
| Child CPR Skills Test | Required only when the child component is taught |
| Infant CPR Skills Test | Required only when the infant component is taught |
| Written exam | Optional; for employer or regulatory needs |
| Published aggregate pass rate | Not publicly disclosed |
| Fixed skills-test duration | Not publicly verified |
For a deeper look at how the pieces fit, see our overview of Heartsaver CPR AED requirements and the explainer on what Heartsaver CPR AED certification actually involves.
The Optional Written Exam: 84% and Open Resources
When a written exam is administered, the current policy in the Heartsaver Instructor Essentials Faculty Guide (April 14, 2026) sets the following parameters, with the Heartsaver CPR AED form explicitly included:
- A minimum score of 84% is required to pass.
- Reference materials are allowed, including the workbook or eBook, your notes, and the guidelines.
- The exam is scenario-based.
- AHA mandates no completion time limit.
- Discussion with other students or the instructor during the exam is prohibited.
- The faculty guide describes classroom administration even for blended learners.
Just as important is what remains unverified. The exact question count for the CPR AED written form is not publicly confirmed. The faculty guide mentions 10 to 25 questions, but that range describes five Heartsaver exam forms collectively, not this course alone. Likewise, the scored versus unscored breakdown and full question-format specification are not public. If you see a site asserting a firm "20-question" Heartsaver exam, treat it as unverified for this specific course.
One caution on sources: the faculty guide's remediation paragraph contains an apparent stray reference to ACLS. We treat that as a source inconsistency and do not apply it to Heartsaver. Conflicting claims on third-party sites, such as a closed-book proctored final exam, do not align with AHA's open-resource policy for this course.
Decoding Pass Rates and Guarantees From Training Sites
Searching for pass-rate information surfaces plenty of confident numbers, usually from individual training providers. Examples visible in current public pages include a "99% student pass rate," a separate "90% pass rate guarantee" counter, and a "100% pass guarantee." These are worth understanding rather than dismissing, but they should not be mistaken for issuer data.
| Type of Claim | What It Typically Means | What It Does Not Mean |
|---|---|---|
| "99% pass rate" on a provider page | A local marketing figure, possibly covering all courses that site teaches | An AHA-wide Heartsaver CPR AED statistic |
| "100% pass guarantee" | A remediation or retake policy, often at no extra charge | That no learner ever needs a second attempt |
| Review counts and star ratings | Customer satisfaction, often across BLS, ACLS, and PALS | Selected-course outcomes |
| "Universal 20-question exam" | A generic claim from broad CPR prep content | A verified fact for this course |
The practical takeaway: a guarantee is a service policy. It tells you a provider will let you retry or re-practice, which is genuinely valuable, but it says nothing about how many people succeed on the first attempt nationally. Because Heartsaver skills sessions are coached, most instructors allow practice and correction until the learner demonstrates competence, which naturally produces high local completion figures.
Where Learners Realistically Struggle, Domain by Domain
Without published statistics, the most useful substitute is understanding where the curriculum demands the most precision. The course topic list contains 12 headings. These are unweighted preparation topics, including Introduction and Conclusion, and they do not establish an official domain count for a written exam or exhaustive coverage of assessment content. No percentage weights are published. Our exam domains guide covers each in depth; here is a performance-focused view.
Domain 2: Adult CPR AED: Compressions, Breaths, and AED
This is the required core and the focus of the mandatory skills test. Expect to demonstrate it hands-on.
- Compression depth, rate, and full chest recoil quality
- Minimizing interruptions when switching to AED use
- Correct pad placement and following AED prompts without delay
Domains 3 and 4: Child and Infant CPR AED (Optional Components)
These are optional child and infant topics, taught only when the course configuration includes them. If your employer requires them, they become mandatory for your purposes.
- Adjusting technique for body size and hand placement
- Using pediatric pads or attenuators where applicable
- Recognizing differences from the adult sequence
Domains 5, 6, and 7: Choking Relief by Age Group
Adult choking is required; child and infant choking are optional components.
- Recognizing severe airway obstruction versus mild
- Age-appropriate relief technique and what to do if the person becomes unresponsive
Domains 8 through 11: Current-Course Emergencies
The exact CPR AED column includes opioid-associated emergency, water competency and drowning, heart attack, and stroke. These topics are easy to underestimate because they involve recognition and response decisions rather than a hands-on manikin skill.
- Recognizing signs and calling for help promptly
- Scenario judgment, which a written exam would test through situations rather than definitions
Topics marked NA for CPR AED in the source table, including the separate First Aid curriculum, are excluded. Do not spend study time on bleeding control, splinting, or similar First Aid content for this card. For a quick-reference companion, our cheat sheet distills the must-know points.
Format Checklist Before You Book
A frequent source of confusion, and arguably a bigger "failure" point than any test, is buying an online course and assuming it ends in a card. Online study alone is insufficient. Use this checklist to avoid wasted time and money.
- Confirm the exact card. Verify that your booked configuration issues the Heartsaver CPR AED card, not First Aid CPR AED or BLS.
- Understand the route. Options include instructor-led classroom, blended learning, approved self-guided pathways, and virtual completion.
- Plan the hands-on session. Blended learners finish the online portion first, then complete hands-on assessment. The official 2025 online product (SKU 25-1401, $19.50) covers only the online portion with the student eBook; the skills session is purchased separately.
- Ask about virtual options. AHA's Heartsaver Virtual permits instructor-observed hands-on completion with a training kit and feedback app, so a shared classroom is not universal.
- Check employer requirements. Ask whether they need the optional child and infant components or a written exam.
- Confirm timing and total price. Independent Training Centers set all-inclusive and renewal fees. Our cost breakdown explains how the components stack up.
Key Takeaway
The most common way to "fail" is procedural, not academic: finishing the online module and never completing the hands-on skills test. The card is issued only after the skills demonstration, so book the skills session before you finalize your plan.
A Heartsaver-Specific Prep Sequence
This course does not require a long study campaign. Required-topic instruction is estimated at about 1.5 hours of instructor-led time, excluding optional topics and breaks, though configuration affects actual duration and this is instructional time, not exam timing. A short, targeted sequence is enough. For a fuller approach, see the Heartsaver CPR AED study guide.
Core adult skills
- Review Domain 2 and practice compression rhythm and depth if you have access to a manikin
- Walk through AED steps aloud until the sequence is automatic
Choking and emergencies
- Cover Domain 5 adult choking relief
- Study Domains 8 through 11 for recognition cues and response order
Optional age groups and materials
- Add Domains 3, 4, 6, and 7 only if your employer or class requires them
- Tab your workbook or eBook in case a written exam is requested
You can pressure-test your recall with practice questions on the main practice test site, which is useful for building scenario judgment even though the official written exam, when used, is open-resource.
How to Evaluate Any Pass-Rate Claim You See
Because the data gap invites confident-sounding guesses, apply a few filters whenever a source cites a Heartsaver pass rate:
- Check the scope. Does the claim name Heartsaver CPR AED specifically, or does it blur First Aid CPR AED, BLS, or ACLS together? Search results often use "Heartsaver" as shorthand for several courses.
- Check the source. Is it an AHA publication, or a provider's marketing page? Only the former could be authoritative, and none currently publish a figure.
- Check the mechanism. A "pass guarantee" describes a retake policy, not a first-attempt rate.
- Check the policy fit. Claims of a mandatory closed-book proctored exam conflict with AHA's optional, open-resource policy for this course.
The same caution applies to career-value claims. No Heartsaver-specific salary distribution or causal earnings premium has been verified. This card is better understood as a workplace training requirement than as a standalone occupation, so compare total cost against your employer's expectations. Our guides on whether the certification is worth it and Heartsaver CPR AED jobs take that practical angle, and you can also consult our difficulty guide for how challenging the assessment feels in practice.
Finally, remember the card itself: validity is two years through the end of the issue month, with renewal routes and prices arranged through your Training Center. The current course follows the 2025 AHA Guidelines, and teaching materials from March 1, 2026 onward are expected to reflect them, so confirm your provider is using current materials.
Frequently Asked Questions
AHA has not publicly disclosed an aggregate pass rate for Heartsaver CPR AED. Percentages you see on training-provider websites are local marketing claims or guarantees, not issuer-wide statistics, and should not be treated as a national figure.
Not necessarily. The required assessment is a satisfactory Adult CPR and AED Skills Test, plus child and infant skills tests when those components are taught. A written exam is optional and used when an employer or regulator requires it. Confirm your requirements with your employer and Training Center.
Current policy requires at least 84%. The exam is scenario-based, allows reference materials such as your workbook or eBook and notes, and has no AHA-mandated time limit. Discussion with classmates or the instructor during the exam is prohibited.
The exact question count for this specific course is not publicly verified. A range of 10 to 25 questions in the faculty guide describes five Heartsaver exam forms together, so it should not be read as the count for CPR AED alone.
No. Online study alone is insufficient. You must complete a hands-on skills assessment, whether in a classroom, through a blended or self-guided pathway, or via instructor-observed virtual completion. Always confirm the booked configuration issues the exact Heartsaver CPR AED card.